header image

Board of Directors

PDF version

The U.S. Virgin Islands Economic Authority is managed by a seven-member board. 

Kevin Rodriquez
Gary Molloy
Vice Chairman
Haldane Davies, Ph.D.
Board Secretary

Haldane Davies, Ph.D., serves as Vice President for Business Development and Innovation at the University of the Virgin Islands. Dr. Davies holds a doctorate in Philosophy degree in Educational Administration with a focus on higher education from Andrews University. He is also a strategic planner, certified mediator, trainer, accreditation evaluator, competency assessor, and a member of the Baldrige Board of Examiners. Dr. Davies, who is also Executive Director of the Foundation for the University of the Virgin Islands, holds certificates in related areas from Harvard University, Cornell University, the University of the West Indies and Yale University.

Jose' A. Penn
Board Member

José A. Penn represents the island of St. John on the USVIEDA Board and is also Chairman of the Enterprise Zone Commission (EZC). He is chief financial officer of his family's group of businesses: Penn’s Apartment Rental, Inc.; Penn’s Jeep Rental, Inc. and Penn’s Trucking Services, Inc. Mr. Penn obtained a Bachelor of Arts degree in Accounting from the University of the Virgin Islands and serves on the following Boards: Virgin Islands Board of Land Use Appeals; Friends of the Virgin Islands National Park Advisory Board; the Virgin Islands Port Authority; the St. Thomas/St. John Horse Racing Commission; Junior Achievement of the Virgin Islands and the Julius E. Sprauve School Charitable Trust. He is also a member of the St. Thomas - St. John Chamber of Commerce, Inc. and is a charter and honorary member of the Rotary Club of St. John, Inc.

Avery L. Lewis
Board Member

Recognized as a “highly qualified and certified elementary education teacher” by the Virgin Islands Board of Education, Mr. Avery L. Lewis is an elementary school teacher at the Ulla F. Muller Elementary School on St. Thomas. Born and raised in the U.S. Virgin Islands, Mr. Lewis is a proud product of the public education system. With a Bachelor of Arts degree in Elementary Education from the University of the Virgin Islands, he is pursuing a Masters degree in Administration. Passionate about the rights of the working class, Mr. Lewis is active in several local and national labor unions, and labor-related associations and organizations. He serves as president of the Virgin Islands Central Labor Council, co-chair of the Labor Management Committee, a member of the Virgin Islands Unemployment Advisory Council, and first vice-president of the St. Thomas-St. John Federation of Teachers Local 1825.

Positive Nelson
Board Member

Title 29 VIC Chapter 21 creates the Virgin Islands Economic Development Authority and its board. The law states that the members of the board shall be seven (7) in numbers. Three members shall be appointed by the Governor from amongst the heads of cabinet-level executive departments or agencies or his executive staff. Three shall not be employees of the Government of the U.S. Virgin Islands and shall represent each of the Virgin Islands. And one member must be appointed from the Board of Executive Staff of the Government Employee Retirement System, Virgin Islands Port Authority, or the University of the Virgin Islands.